M.C. Natori Poster Award

Prof. M.C. Natori

We are proud to announce M.C. Natori Award for the Best Poster Presentation. The Award is eligible for first authors of poster presentations who are 35 years old or younger. The Award is named after the colleague Dr. M.C. Natori, Professor Emeritus at Institute of Space and Astronautical Science (ISAS), Japan, for his significant contribution to the research in Adaptive Structures and being one of the founders of ICAST.

A recipient of the Award will be carefully selected by international judges, based on the poster contents and discussions with the first author during the Poster sessions.

The winner(s) will be announced during the conference dinner on 15th of October, 2015. In addition, 50,000 yen will be given as a supplementary prize to the first author of selected poster(s).


Professor M.C. Natori is one of pioneering researchers in the fields of adaptive structures and gossamer structures including bio-inspired design and origami-engineering in mechanics. He has been a leading person from late 1960's both in education and research in Space Structure Engineering, Structural Dynamics and Control, and Science on Form. Various challenging space projects, collaborated with agencies around the world, were made possible under his management. Such projects include the structure development of auroral observation satellite Akebono (EXOS-D), the space experiment test bed SFU (Space Flyer Unit) for two-dimensional deployment array, and the deployable antenna of radio astronomy satellite MUSES-B (HALCA). His prominent knowledge and experience were succeeded to younger colleagues during his affiliation at University of Tokyo, Chiba University, and Waseda University. While he collaborated with other institutions like Northwestern University as a research fellow, University of Colorado at Boulder and Dalian University of Technology as a visiting professor, and International Space University as a co-chair. Further he has responsible position in academic society as an associate fellow of AIAA (The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics), and was a fellow of JSME (the Japan Society of Mechanical Engineers) and of IOP (Institute of Physics).